Tested: Dr. Organic Snail Gel Moisture Mask

“I wouldn’t even recommend it to my worst enemy.”

Yes, you read the title correctly: Snail. This slimy little creature famously found in our back gardens is the star ingredient of this moisturising mask. Now before you go all PETA on me, no snails were harmed in the making of this product.

The ‘snail’ ingredient is actually called helix aspersa miller. It’s a slime extract that snails produce naturally to regenerate their own damaged skin. Typically, snails are farmed to extract the slime they produce, but this is carried out in a humane and organic manner. Their slime is collected by special glass panels that the gastropods (snails aren’t classified as insects btw) move to on their own accord.

Dr. Organic’s snail gel mask – which is available exclusively at Holland and Barret for £1.99 – promises to sooth and soften your skin by removing excess dirt and impurities. The product encourages users to incorporate it within their weekly cleansing regime.

 

dr-organic-snail-gel-moisture-mask-10ml

Organic Snail Gel Moisture Mask, image credit: Holland and Barret

Before applying the mask to my face, I smeared a bit on my arm to see if I had any type of reaction. When I was in the clear, I decided to give this beauty snail sensation a try. However, I wish I hadn’t….

After applying the mask all over my face and letting it sit for ten minutes as instructed, I could not believe my eyes when I rinsed it off and looked in the mirror. I actually had a “tomato face,” looking bright red and like I had a really nasty sunburn. The redness of my face was accompanied by a slight stinging sensation.

d4db9f438dcdf448200c4beeb23bb19b

Ok, this obviously isn´t me but this is pretty much what my face looked like after removing the face mask…. Image credit: Pinterest

My skin isn’t particularly sensitive so I was surprised that I had such a reaction and especially performing a test on my arm beforehand. Fortunately for me, the redness calmed down after a few hours. The mask itself had more of a heavy cream texture and a rather neutral smell. However, I don’t really go around smelling snails so I wouldn’t know if they had a particular odour.

But it’s safe to say that I will steer clear of this product and wouldn’t even recommend it to my worst enemy (or maybe I would?).

Rating: 1/5

Image credit for cover image: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

